St. Jude’s has always been a place for caring. Starting out as a grand family home, it was built in 1914 for the family of Rev. Havelock and Agnes Coates.
By 1948, the family had moved on, and the house was acquired by an Anglican charity as a home to support elderly Christian ladies of limited means. Throughout the years, the house has been renovated often, in order to better serve the increasingly diverse group of people who called it home.
One of the most unique features remaining at St. Jude’s is a Craftsman-Style stained glass window, featuring two coconut trees, which sits on the Northeast corner of the second floor. This summer we need to replace 10 old windows and repair the building façade in this corner.
The visual for our fundraising campaign for the window replacement project is based on this stained glass. Progress towards the goal will be measured on a coconut tree displayed in the lobby. Each donation will be noted via a coconut.

